Perspective

20150109_171103

It used to be fun…. scrolling through web and social media sites for all the latest regarding the mysterious creature called bigfoot. I used to love reading the sightings reports on the BFRO website. Or, going to the Facebook Find Bigfoot page and watching their video breakdowns. Then there was Bigfoot Evidence!! Wow… “the world’s only 24/7 news site…” I stayed in obscurity, not signing up for social media or electronic newsletters. It was the way I liked it.

In the old days, there were just books. I remember pouncing on any newly published ones I could dig up in the library – or better yet, found on the bottom of the paperback rack at the local drugstore. It was also fun because there were just a handful of “experts” – the guys who actually went into the woods to search and investigate. Ah, those were the days. That was the time everyone thought bigfoot was just some kind of strange, giant ape roaming around the forests in the remote areas Pacific Northwest and Northern California.

Boy, have things changed. At the tap or click of a finger, there is simply too much information. I am in the thick of it, too. After publishing my books, I didn’t have much of a choice. The more I’m involved, the more it becomes comically apparent most of what’s out there isn’t even information! It’s opinions and ideas–many of which are touted as “truth.” I’ve said it before and I’ll keep saying it: no one is an expert on bigfoot/sasquatch. NO ONE. It hasn’t been proven yet. Many proclaim they have their own proof. Okay, well, I am a scientist by nature so unless you can present such evidence in a manner that will allow establishing the species among the scientific population (as well as the general), it’s just not evidence in the true sense of the word.

Not that I’m ungrateful for wondrous imaginations. I am very grateful. Without them, I would have no beef to add to EVE, IRON MOUNTAIN RIDGE and now, ELUSIVE. However, my books are fiction. I don’t have any basis for the story other than my own homemade stew of ideas, imagined scenarios and crazy thoughts. Add some of the maelstrom that is bigfootery today, and the sky is the limit as far as what you want your bigfoot to do.

People like to say “anything is possible.” No, it’s not. Some things are possible but then you have to ask IS IT FEASIBLE?? Therein lies the problem. Our brains can make up stuff that is entirely not possible and in no way feasible. It’s one of the things that make our minds so unique and cool (mostly).

Now, I’m going go write some mind boggling fiction. 😀

2 thoughts on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

